Pluto Press Logo

Independent Radical Publishing




On the Blog



Beneath the Bombs

by Sharyn Lock and Sarah Irving

An eyewitness account of events in Gaza that brings home the horror of life in a war-zone, based on the author's candid and dramatic blog.
The 2008 Israeli offensive in Gaza was described by Amnesty international as '22 days of death and destruction'. This eyewitness account brings home the horror of life in Gaza beneath the bombs.

Travelling to the Gaza strip with the Free Gaza Movement, Sharyn Lock believed the greatest danger she faced was the Israeli sea blockade in a fishing boat, but on the 27th December the bombs started falling and did not stop until almost 1500 were dead. With others from the International Solidarity Movement, Sharyn volunteered with Palestinian ambulances, assisting them as they faced overwhelming civilian casualties. Her candid and dramatic writing from Gaza gave the world an insight into the conflict that the mainstream media - unable to enter Gaza - couldn't provide.

Sharyn Lock has been volunteering in Palestine since 2002. She is the co-author of Gaza: Beneath the Bombs (Pluto, 2010). She has written for New Internationalist, Red Pepper and the Big Issue North.

Sarah Irving is Leverhulme Early Career Fellow at Edge Hill University and a freelance writer whose work has appeared in Electronic Intifada, Guardian and New Internationalist. She has held editorial roles at Red Pepper, Peace News and Ethical Consumer magazine. She is author of Leila Khaled: Icon of Palestinian Liberation (Pluto 2012), The Bradt Guide to Palestine (2011) and co-author (with Sharyn Lock) of Gaza: Beneath the Bombs (Pluto, 2010).

'Moving and understated ... Sharyn Lock manages to humanise the inhuman' - Richard Falk, United Nations Special Rapporteur on Palestine and Professor Emeritus of International Law at Princeton University 'This is an honest, forthright account full of compassion and insight; it plunges the reader into Gaza as it suffers the Israeli onslaught' - Jeremy Hardy
Introduction by Sarah Irving
1. Breaking The Siege: December 14 2004 - November 18 2008
2. Escalating Violence: December 3 - December 26 2008
3. The Sky Falls In: December 27 2008 - January 4 2009
4. No Safe Place: January 5 - January 16 2009
5. Aftermath: January 17 - February 2 2009
6. Farming Under Fire: February 3 - March 19 2009
7. Badri! March 23 - April 20 2009
Afterword by Richard Falk
Further Information
Published by Pluto Press in Jan 2010
Paperback ISBN: 9780745330242

240 pages

129mm x 198mm