Pluto Press Logo




On the Blog


Throughout the years, our books have been nominated for and awarded numerous prizes, for both their content and design. Pluto has also been recognised with industry awards.

Rathbones Folio Prize

Burning Country by Robin Yassin-Kassab and Leila Al-Shami (Shortlisted) 2017


Palestine Book Awards

On the Arab-Jew, Palestine, and Other Displacements by Ella Shohat (Winner) 2017

War Against the People by Jeff Halper (Shortlisted) 2016

Memoirs of an Early Arab Feminist by Anbara Salam Khalidi (Shortlisted) 2014

Israeli Apartheid by Ben White (Shortlisted) 2012


Deutscher Memorial Prize

Reconstructing Karl Polanyi by Gareth Dale (Shortlisted) 2017

Nomads, Empires, States by Kees van der Pijl (Winner) 2008

Discovering the Scottish Revolution by Neil Davidson (Winner) 2003


ICA Book of the Year

Curationism by David Balzer (Winner) 2015

Stitched Up by Tansy Hoskins (Winner) 2014


JQ Wingate Literary Prize

The Unchosen by Mya Guarnieri Jaradat (Shortlisted) 2017

Do I Belong? edited by Antony Lerman (Longlisted) 2017


ISA Book Prize

How the West Came to Rule by Alexander Anievas and Kerem Nişancıoğlu (Winner) 2017


BBC Radio 4 Thinking Allowed Award for Ethnography

Working the Phones by Jamie Woodcock (Shortlisted) 2017

Flip-Flop by Caroline Knowles (Shortlisted) 2015


ABCD Awards (Academy of British Cover Design)

The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels – designed by David Pearson (Winner) 2018

Syriza by Kevin Ovenden – designed by Jamie Keenan (Shortlisted) 2016

Artwash by Mel Evans – designed by Jamie Keenan (Shortlisted) 2016


National Communication Association, Diamond Anniversary Book Award

Under the Cover of Chaos by Lawrence Grossberg (Winner) 2019

Bread and Roses Prize

Alt Right by Mike Wendling (Shortlisted) 2019

Sound System by Dave Randall (Shortlisted) 2018

The Violence of Austerity by Vickie Cooper and David Whyte (Shortlisted) 2018

Artwash by Mel Evans (Shortlisted) 2016

Stitched Up by Tansy Hoskins (Shortlisted) 2015

Secret Manoeuvres in the Dark by Eveline Lubbers (Shortlisted) 2013

What We Are Fighting For edited by Federico Campagna and Emanuele Campiglio (Shortlisted) 2013

Magical Marxism by Andy Merrifield (Shortlisted) 2012


CHOICE Outstanding Academic Book Prize

Jacques Lacan by Martin Murray (Winner) 2016


Russo & Linkon Award

Choke Points edited by Jake Alimahomed-Wilson and Immanuel Ness (Winner) 2019


Latino Politics Book Award

The Latino Question by Armando Ibarra, Alfredo Carlos and Rodolfo D Torres (Winner – Best Book) 2019


New York Times Book Covers of the Year
The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels – designed by David Pearson (Winner) 2017


Casual Optimist Notable Book Covers

The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels – designed by David Pearson – 2017

We Will Not Be Silenced edited by William I Robinson and Maryam S Griffin- designed by James Paul Jones – 2017

Storming Heaven by Steve Wright – designed by David Gee – 2017

The Chaplin Machine by Owen Hatherley – designed by David Pearson – 2016

Economics After Capitalism by Derek Wall – designed by David Gee – 2015

Racism by Mike Cole – designed by Daniel Benneworth Gray – 2015

Syriza by Kevin Ovenden – designed by Jamie Keenan – 2015


Green Carnation Prize

Artwash by Mel Evans (Shortlisted) 2015


The IPG Nielsen Digital Marketing Award

Pluto Press (Shortlisted) 2018


The IPG Marketing Award

Pluto Press (Shortlisted) 2019


Knowledge Unlatched Open Access Heroes

Pluto Press (Winner) 2018


BIC Product Data Excellence Award – Excellence Plus

Pluto Press (Winner) 2018